Contest in the Parliamentary Party – foul play alleged

Democracy is alive and well in the Parliamentary Labour Party. There is to be an election.  Not for the PLP (backbench) vacancy on the party’s national executive caused by the promotion to the front bench of Angela Smith. She is to be replaced by Margaret Beckett, elected unopposed (and yes, she is a backbencher), such is the status of the executive in the minds of MPs. It is for a vacancy on the ‘Parliamentary Committee’ of the parliamentary party, effectively a liaison committee between backbenchers and the shadow cabinet. There are two candidates — Teresa Pearce, MP for Erith and Thamesmead, and Nic Dakin, MP for Scunthorpe. Continue reading