Latest post on Left Futures

A shadow team with a new political balance

The full shadow team has now been published. It consists of 101 members of the Commons (out of  269 – more than the parliamentary party rules permit). It includes 23 of the 2010 intake – a new generation indeed (well, apart from Jack Dromey).  But there is a significant shift to the left:  49 supported Ed Miliband in the final round of leadership voting, 4 abstained (Abbott, Balls, Cooper and Harman), and 48 supported David Miliband. Not enough of a shift to the Left to arouse complaint (nor to satisfy those on the left of the party outside) but very significant. The front bench is more representative of the party than it has been for 20 years, and more so than the parliamentary party. With 37 women, it is also more female than the parliamentary party.

The full details are as follows (shadow cabinet members in bold, Ed Miliband final round supporters in red, abstentions in purple):

Leader of the Opposition
Ed Miliband

PPS to the Leader of the Opposition
Anne McGuire
Chuka Umunna

Deputy Leader and International Development
Harriet Harman

Mark Lazarowicz
Rushanara Ali

Alan Johnson (Shadow Chancellor)
Angela Eagle (Shadow Chief Secretary)
David Hanson
Chris Leslie
Kerry McCarthy

Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs
Yvette Cooper

John Spellar
Wayne David
Stephen Twigg
Emma Reynolds

Women and Equalities
Yvette Cooper

Fiona MacTaggart

Home Affairs
Ed Balls
Vernon Coaker
Phil Woolas
Gerry Sutcliffe
Diana Johnson
Shabana Mahmood

Andy Burnham

Kevin Brennan
Sharon Hodgson
Iain Wright

Toby Perkins

Sadiq Khan

Chris Bryant
Helen Goodman
Andy Slaughter

Rob Flello

Work and Pensions
Douglas Alexander

Stephen Timms
Karen Buck
Margaret Curran
Rachel Reeves

Business, Innovation and Skills
John Denham

Gareth Thomas
Ian Lucas
Gordon Banks
Gordon Marsden
Nia Griffith
Chi Onwurah

John Healey

Diane Abbott (Public Health)
Emily Thornberry
Derek Twigg
Liz Kendall

Communities and Local Government
Caroline Flint

Alison Seabeck
Barbara Keeley
Jack Dromey
Chris Williamson

Jim Murphy

Kevan Jones
Russell Brown
Michael Dugher
Gemma Doyle

Energy and Climate Change
Meg Hillier

Huw Irranca-Davies
Luciana Berger

Shadow Leader of the House of Commons
Hilary Benn
Helen Jones

Maria Eagle

Jim Fitzpatrick
Andrew Gwynne
John Woodcock

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Mary Creagh

Willie Bain
Jamie Reed
Peter Soulsby

Northern Ireland
Shaun Woodward

Eric Joyce

Ann McKechin
Tom Greatrex

Peter Hain
Owen Smith

Culture, Media and Sport
Ivan Lewis
Tessa Jowell
Ian Austin
Gloria De Piero

Shadow Leader of the House of Lords
Baroness Royall of Blaisdon

Cabinet office
Liam Byrne

Jon Trickett
Roberta Blackman-Woods

Law Officers

Baroness Scotland (Shadow Attorney-General)
Catherine McKinnell (Shadow Solicitor-General)

Whips Office (Commons)
Rosie Winterton (Chief Whip)
Alan Campbell (Deputy Chief Whip)
Tony Cunningham (Pairing Whip)
Lyn Brown
Mark Tami
David Wright
Stephen Pound
David Hamilton
Dave Anderson

Angela C Smith
Phil Wilson
Lillian Greenwood
Jonathan Reynolds
Graham Jones

Whips Office (Lords)
Lord Bassam of Brighton(Lords Chief Whip)

Comments are closed.

© 2024 Left Futures | Powered by WordPress | theme originated from PrimePress by Ravi Varma