Latest post on Left Futures

Shadow cabinet elections – who the candidates voted for

An analysis of the candidates for the shadow cabinet reveals that 29 supported David Miliband in the final round, three did not vote and only 16 backed the new leader. Whilst the abstainers (Ed Balls, Yvette Cooper and Diane Abbott) as well as a few of David Miliband’s erstwhile supporters such as Angela Eagle may now be expected to back the Leader against those who may seek to resist change, it unerlies the need to ensure that the Shadow Cabinet has a majority for change.

The detailed voting is shown in this table, grouped by first preference. Final round preferences are indicated with David supporters shown in blue and Ed supporters in red. Names in bold have been members of the shadow cabinet, al least since May.

Male Female
Ed Miliband Hilary Benn

Wayne David

John Denham

Peter Hain

Sadiq Khan

Ian Lucas

Stephen Timms

Roberta Blackman-Woods

Maria Eagle

Helen Goodman

Anne McKechin

Emily Thornberry

David Miliband Douglas Alexander

Ben Bradshaw

Chris Bryant

Liam Byrne

Mike Gapes

Barry Gardiner

David Hanson

Tom Harris

Huw Irranca-Davies

Alan Johnson

Kevan Jones

David Lammy

Ivan Lewis

Pat McFadden

Alun Michael

Jim Murphy

Gareth Thomas

Stephen Twigg

Shaun Woodward

Mary Creagh

Angela Eagle

Caroline Flint

Meg  Hillier

Tessa Jowell

Fiona  Mactaggart

Diane Abbott Diane Abbott
Ed Balls Ed Balls

Kevin Brennan

Vernon Coaker

John Healey

Eric Joyce

Chris Leslie

Ian Wright

Yvette Cooper

Barbara Keeley

Andy Burnham Andy Burnham

Rob Flello


  1. Citizen ex says:

    protes and devested the Dianne Abbott got no post SHAME, will never vote Labour again..none of my black socialist will vote for Labour!!

  2. mick says:

    where’s this info from? is there stuff on other mp;s?

© 2024 Left Futures | Powered by WordPress | theme originated from PrimePress by Ravi Varma