Latest post on Left Futures

The roll of honour: opposed to the Indiscriminate Mass Surveillance Bill

commons bench by UK Parliament, file at Hundal makes the crucial point about  this morning on Labour List: “an emergency was concocted. There’s little point in complaining about the rush because that was the whole point.” Ed Miliband’s Labour Party went along with it and Sunny rightly says “Ed Miliband’s civil liberties credentials are now in tatters.” Presumably, the calculation  was that the vital Lib Dem to Labour switchers will stick with us because the Lib Dems are even worse.

Twenty-two members of the Labour Party opposed the bill at second reading accompanied by only four Lib Dems and ten Tories. Many more abstained. But all the minority parties (with the exception of Respect) were there.

Tom Watson deserves particular praise for his stand, and I’m afraid Yvette Cooper particular blame, in spite of her competent delivery. Yvette has provided good reason why Ed should look elsewhere for a Labour Home Secretary. As Sunny explains:

Tom Watson wrote to Yvette Cooper in April, after a European Court struck down these surveillance powers as illegal, to ask what reform might look like. He wanted the shadow Home Secretary to grasp the nettle and start the debate early.

But instead Yvette Cooper kept quiet and instead agreed to a stitch-up between Theresa May and Nick Clegg. Then, astonishingly, she stood up in the Commons yesterday to call for a wider debate on UK’s surveillance laws despite having ignored a fellow Labour MP who called on her to do exactly that.

The full roll of honour is as follows:

Abbott, Ms Diane
Betts, Mr Clive
Brown, rh Mr Nicholas
Corbyn, Jeremy (teller)
Cunningham, Mr Jim
Flello, Robert
Francis, Dr Hywel
Godsiff, Mr Roger
Havard, Mr Dai
Hoey, Kate
Hopkins, Kelvin
Lavery, Ian
Lazarowicz, Mark
McDonnell, John
Meacher, rh Mr Michael
Morris, Grahame M.
Mudie, Mr George
Riordan, Mrs Linda
Skinner, Mr Dennis
Smith, rh Mr Andrew
Watson, Mr Tom
Winnick, Mr David

Baker, Steve (teller)
Binley, Mr Brian
Bone, Mr Peter
Davies, Philip
Davis, rh Mr David
de Bois, Nick
Dorries, Nadine
Hollobone, Mr Philip
Mills, Nigel
Turner, Mr Andrew

Liberal Democrat
Hames, Duncan
Heath, Mr David
Hemming, John
Sanders, Mr Adrian

Hosie, Stewart
MacNeil, Mr Angus Brendan
Robertson, Angus
Weir, Mr Mike
Whiteford, Dr Eilidh
Wishart, Pete

Durkan, Mark
McDonnell, Dr Alasdair
Ritchie, Ms Margaret

Plaid Cymru
Edwards, Jonathan
Llwyd, rh Mr Elfyn
Williams, Hywel

Alliance Party
Long, Naomi

Green Party
Lucas, Caroline

Wilson, Sammy


  1. Robert says:

    The names are a labour party left of centre, I would not even need any one to have put them up I could have guessed them, and the ones who voted for it, these labour-rites would have made Tony Blair happy and proud.

  2. Mike says:

    So where was Katy Clark?

    1. Jon Lansman says:

      Katy Clark voted with the bulk of Labour MPs on this division (on the timetable motion which telescoped the Commons process into a single day) which was the biggest rebellion, but did rebel in the next vote (against second reading of the bill) which registered her opposition to the bill. The additional rebels in this later vote were:

      Campbell, Mr Ronnie
      Clark, Katy
      Sheridan, Jim
      Skinner, Mr Dennis

      Apart from Katy Clark, the others had abstained in the first vote. If I’d had time I would have analysed the abstainers and each vote separately.

      It’s always important to treat the voting record in a single division with care. It is a basis for asking questions, not for reaching conclusions. Just because someone is not on a “roll of honour” does not mean they are on a roll of shame. There are always other votes and abstention may be intended as an indication of opposition too (though it may also indicate absence with or without good cause). Rebellions are often not well organised or planned, but in some cases can still be significant.

© 2024 Left Futures | Powered by WordPress | theme originated from PrimePress by Ravi Varma