Latest post on Left Futures

Labour backbenchers elect their representatives

Labour backbenchers have today elected their representatives to the parliamentary committee which is now a liaison committee between backbenchers and the leadership both in government and opposition. The centre left is pretty happy with the result. The winners are Valerie Vaz (elected with most votes so she becomes vice chair of the parliamentary party), Kate Green, John Cryer, Clive Efford, Sheila Gilmore and Jim Sheridan.

The remaining candidates, Nic Dakin, Geraint Davies, Bill Esterton, Steve McCabe and Siobhain McDonagh, were not elected. All of these would probably be regarded as being on the centre right except Bill Esterson. All voters were required to vote for at least two women.

Comments are closed.

© 2024 Left Futures | Powered by WordPress | theme originated from PrimePress by Ravi Varma