Election result for backbench MP reps on Labour executive

The result of the election of representatives of backbench members of Parliament and MEPs has been announced (though without voting figures). Sitting members Margaret Beckett and Dennis Skinner were returned together with Steve Rotherham, MP for Liverpool Walton and a former Lord Mayor of Liverpool, who replaces Michael Cashman MEP, former Eastenders star and current Chair of the executive, who is standing down. Continue reading

Party fixing: we’ve had enough HP sauce

Sighs of relief (as well as the odd celebration) spread this weekend amongst Labour activists following the announcement of the departure of one of Labour headquarter’s most notorious “fixers” during the New Labour years. It comes as no surprise that Hilary Perrin (HP), the London Regional Director, is to leave the party staff as she was unlikely to survive the next round of “management restructuring”. Although it had ceased to be clear in whose interests HP and her fellow fixers on the party staff were acting once Tony Blair was succeeded by first Gordon Brown and then Ed Miliband, the fixing continued unabated. Continue reading

Labour’s National Policy Forum: slight shift to Left

In the contest for places on the Labour’s national policy forum, there was a slight shift to the left, a net gain of one place. The Left did especially well in Yorkshire, gaining two places, plus one each in London, the East of England and the South West, plus an additional councillor. However, three places were lost in Scotland and one each in the North and North-West. Continue reading

Labour executive elections: Left 47%, Right 33%, Ind 20%

The results of the elections for constituency representatives on Labour’s national executive show no change in the political composition compared with the current membership, the only change being that Peter Wheeler replaced fellow right-wing slate member Luke Akehurst. However, since Johanna Baxter replaced Oona King immediately after the previous election, this represents one lost seat for the right-wing Progress/Labour First slate, who also won only 32.8% of the votes compared with 47.3% for the Centre-Left Grassroots Alliance and  19.9%  for independents. Continue reading

Not got your Labour ballot papers yet? Read this

Voting in Labour’s internal elections is due to close at 5pm on Wednesday 13 June. Ballot packs for these elections were distributed to members between Friday 25 May and Tuesday 29 May. Included among these packs were specific mailings for councillors which included an insert for the election of ALC representatives on the NEC. Most of the councillor packs were posted on Monday 28 May and Tuesday 29 May. Continue reading